10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2009 1:48 PM by spectre6000

Very new to all of this

spectre6000

Title

Very new to all of this

I'm using FileMaker Pro 10. I'm new to FileMaker and databasing as a whole. I'm thoroughly stumped.

I'm trying to create a relationship between two tables: Investors and Assets. Each investor owns a portion of many assets, and each asset is owned by many investors (not all investors own all assets). I need to be able to tie a number of investors to a number of assets by varying percentages that are more or less unique to each asset/investor

i.e. Asset 1 is owned by 25% Investor A, 10% Investor B, and 65% Investor C, Asset 2 is owned by 10% Investor A, 35% Investor D, and 55% Investor E, and so on.

i.e. Investor X owns $$$ worth of assets (A% of asset 1 + B% of asset 2 and so on.

I've searched here, read the Missing Manual, called support, and beat my head against the keyboard. None of this has helped.

A final caveat, I don't know the jargon yet.

Any and all help is very much appreciated. Thank you.

• 1. Re: Very new to all of this
          philmodjunk

You have a classic many to many relationship problem here. For each Investor record, you have many assets and for each asset record you have many investors. THe solution is to create a third table, we'll call it Investor_Asset and relate the other two tables to it.

You should be able to set up something like this:

Investor::InvestorID--=--Investor_Asset::InvestorID

Asset::AssetID--=--Investor_Asset::AssetID

Each time you want to assign an asset to an investor, you create a new record in Investor_Asset and store the Investor's Id and the Asset's Id in it.

I'd add a third field to Investor_Asset, to record the percent ownership.

• 2. Re: Very new to all of this
            spectre6000