1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 22, 2010 9:32 AM by philmodjunk

Viewing 'Look up' fields through portals

LaurenYoung

Title

Viewing 'Look up' fields through portals

I'm using FileMaker Pro 10 on a Mac running Mac OS X (Version 10.6.2) - I'm a complete rookie (This is my first attempt at creating a database ever).

I am creating a database for my company - handling customer/supplier data as well as basic functions such as our product catalog, Loan unit catalog and stock.

4 Tables; Customer Organisation, Customer People, Customer Enquiry & Customer sale.

Customer Organisation & Customer People tables > these show 'up to date' info

Customer Enquiry & Customer Sale > These show a record of something unchanging (has happened in the past)

In my Customer Enquiry/Sale tables I have set up 'look ups' for customer info (Name, phone, email, Organisation Name, etc) in order to prevent the information changing if a record is changed in the Customer People table (e.g. Joe Bloggs from Company A makes an enquiry in June 2009 - in June 2010 Joe moves from Company A to Company B - this is edited on his record in Customer People. As the enquiry was made by Joe on behalf of the company (the enquiry belongs to the company and not the person) he was working for at that time (company A) I don't want the organisation information on the enquiry to change from Company A to B)

This is all working fine - my issue is that on my Customer Organisation layout, I have 3 tabs with portals to Customer People (showing the people within the org), Customer Sale (showing the units that have been sold to the org) & Customer Enquiry (showing the enquiries we've had from that org).  I have had no issues with the people portal, but the sale and enquiry portal doesn't work as required.