1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 1, 2011 10:01 AM by philmodjunk

Want to access my filemaker pro access database remotely by only 2 users. Do i need FMP Server?

KorySkolnick

Title

Want to access my filemaker pro access database remotely by only 2 users. Do i need FMP Server?

3 separate issues...

1.   I've been using filemaker pro for my real estate database files and my vacation rental database files all of which are on my laptop. I used to be a filemaker pro developer up until 10 years ago...Lot's of changes since. Anyway, I have filemaker pro advanced now and my real esrtate business  and my vacation rental business is finally growing to the point where i need to hire an assistant and have her accrss my data bases. 

What I think I want to do is have a separate computer at home on my home network loaded with filemaker pro and have my assistant and myself access it remotely from where ever and do work simultaneously.  Can I do that without buying FMP Server these days?  And if we can't access at the same time, that's acutally ok for right now.  I don't want to buy FMP Server as I don't have a lot of people accessing  the files and it might be $$$ overkill.  What is the most efficient,  cheapest and best solution to this future situation?

But, in the very near future...say 6 months from now....things will change...

2.  I can see adding a contact web page to my real estate web site requesting information and another web page on my vacation rental web site for clients to input their own data online and book their own condos themselves. Priovided they are available of course. And this availability will be a page that will search under that units calander and if available, they can book it themselves. Is this possible now without using FMP Server?