8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2013 5:44 PM by JimBessette

Way to create Value list based on a number of fields and their values

JimBessette

Title

Way to create Value list based on a number of fields and their values

Trying to figure out how to limit a drop down (or pop-up) to limit the items that can be selected by a number of fields.   Table I have are “Tour”, “Hotel”, HotelDates”, “Names”, “Tourer”, and “MemberTours”.

Tour Table contains a Tour Code.

Hotel is linked to Names for the name of the Hotel  (Names::Company)

HotelDates contains a “Booked” field set to Y/N to designate if the hotel is booked for a specific TourCode.

What I need for a layout using MemberTours is a way to choose from a drop down of only Hotels that are booked (Booked field = Y) for the TourCode that this Member is on.

I hope that makes sense.  I'm still pretty new to FM.  I've tried creating TOs and all kinds of things, but this one is eluding me.

Jim

• 1. Re: Way to create Value list based on a number of fields and their values
          philmodjunk

When you choose a hotel from the drop down, should the value list enter a HotelID or the Hotel's name?

How does the Hotel table link to Names? (What fields are used as match fields?)

There are a couple of different ways that a conditional value list might be possible depending on your answers to these questions.

• 2. Re: Way to create Value list based on a number of fields and their values
            JimBessette

Thanks Phil,

Selection from the Value list will put the Hotel Name in the Member's Tour record.   Now you got me wondering if that makes my DB a little redundant. Perhaps it really should just have a link to the Hotel.  But for now, I'll just go with copying the Hotel Name to the Member's Tour.

Hotel::_fkNameID-----Names::_pkNameID

Just a little more info if it helps:

Hotel::_pkHotelID----<HotelDates::_fkHotelID

HotelDates::_fkTourID>---Tour::_pk_TourID