3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 10, 2014 7:02 AM by philmodjunk

what do I need ...to script or to export...or something else?

debbiecourtney

Title

what do I need ...to script or to export...or something else?

Hello world.....

A newbie using Pro advanced 10 and I am mostly self taught but have hit a wall, I know what I want as an end result but cant seem to connect the dots to make it work. I am uncertain of the question to ask in the forum so cant find what I need

two databases, file1 and file2....a field that is a radio button of yes/no in file1

if yes is entered I want the entire record moved to file2 and the record now created in file2 must not be edit-able

Many thanks in advance

• 1. Re: what do I need ...to script or to export...or something else?
          philmodjunk

There are ways to make a record not editable that do not require moving the record to a different file or even a different table. What is the reason for moving it to a different file?

Whether keeping the record in the same table or not, Manage | Security can be used to deny edit level access to a record. This can be done on a record by record basis if the only reason to move the record is to keep it from being edited.

See "Editing record access privileges" in FileMaker Help and check out this particular sub section: "Entering a formula for limiting access on a record-by-record basis" for a description of how to set this up.

• 2. Re: what do I need ...to script or to export...or something else?
            debbiecourtney

HI Phil....thanks for your reply. The reason the the file to be moved isnt for security reasons but that the file would be no longer needed to be kept in the orginal file.