AnsweredAssumed Answered

What is similar to a union query in MSAccess?

Question asked by ssp.columbus on Feb 3, 2012
Latest reply on Feb 11, 2012 by philmodjunk

Title

What is similar to a union query in MSAccess?

I am not a developer.  I am an interior designer developing a database to specify furniture on large commercial projects.  I have a database in Access that I am trying to recreate in FileMaker.  I am new to filemaker but have been through the training program.

Program:  FileMaker Pro 11 Advanced

Database Overview: The basics of the database …

Room table for all the rooms in a building

Catalog table of all the pieces of furniture

New Assets table (RoomDetailNew)– items from the catalog are put into a room

Typical Assets table (RoomDetailTypical) and subtables – items from the catalog are put into typicals (repeating group of furniture items) then the typical is put into a room – example is a typical office has a desk, credenza, bookcase and desk chair.  If there are 100 offices it is a lot faster to select the typical rather than enter the data into each of the 100 rooms.

Existing Assets Table (RoomDetailExisting) – items from another database of existing assets being reused that are put into a room

There is a room layout with 3 portals to add new assets, typicals and existing assets. (see attached image)

Problem:  I need various reports that combine the data from the 3 main Asset tables.  Although I can summarize the information I need an item list of every item that is in each room.

Desired Result: A table that automatically takes information from other tables to create a list of every item that is in every room. 

In Access I used a select query to get a list of all the items in a typical listed by room then I used a union query to combine the list of New Items, Items from the typicals and Exisitng Items. 

I have 2 specific problems I am trying to solve.