4 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2015 8:27 PM by starstuff

What is the difference between these table relationship

starstuff

Title

What is the difference between these table relationship

Hi all!

i'm testing out filemaker as a suitable replacement for the multiple spreadsheets i use. i'm a beginner in filemaker and relational database in general.

i'm trying to get my head around these two relationship set-up for category, which is better between the two and why?

(Tables) are:

product

customer

product_category

customer_category - retailer, distributor, manufacturer

(Relationships)

A. category is related to their particular tables

product is match to product_category

customer is match to customer_category

B. category is related to the tables by using a separate table

Here we add a table called CATEGORY,

the product_category and customer_category would be a join table

product is match to CATEGORY, and match to product_category

customer is match to CATEGORY, and match to customer_category

which is better of the two?

Thank You for the assistance!

• 1. Re: What is the difference between these table relationship
          Jade

I don't know your business model or goals here so take the following with a grain of salt or two.

The "CATEGORY" may be a red herring.  If you just want to define the customer type (e.g. retail, distributor, manufacturer, etc.), then a tag (value list field) on the CUSTOMER record may well do the trick.  The "CATEGORY" for products may be more complex or dynamic and merit its own Table.  What would be more important IMO is a join table linking CUSTOMERS to PRODUCTS.  In other words:

CUSTOMER -< Customer_Product >- PRODUCT >- CATEGORY  This assumes a PRODUCT can be assigned to only one CATEGORY

or

CUSTOMER -< Customer_Product >- PRODUCT -< Product_Category >- CATEGORY     If the product can be assigned to many CATEGORIES

• 2. Re: What is the difference between these table relationship
            philmodjunk