14 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2011 12:35 PM by NatChilds

What password??

Radio

Title

What password??

I'm new to FileMaker and created a small learning project. Basically defined the data structure and a relationship. I closed the file, had dinner and when I try re-open it I'm asked for an Account and Password. I don't recall setting one up. I've tried all the regular passwords and even some obscure ones, searched the Keychain all to no avail.

Is there a way to get into the file if I don't know the Password?

Assuming I'm not going to get passed it where do I find the controls to turn the darn Account and Password requirements OFF when I build and new file?

Thanks for your help. 

• 1. Re: What password??
          davidhead

Try Admin with no password.

if you get in, you can go to File > Manage > Accounts & Privileges...

• 2. Re: What password??
            Radio
               Thanks for the solution, I sure appreciate your help.
            • 3. Re: What password??
              JamesSPG

Hey,

So, I have a problem just like Radio; I run the a file, the popup appears asking a user and password, again never needed one before nor was one set up on it, and the only way to access it is through guest which is uneditable.  I tried your the solution of typing "Admin w/ no password" you gave and it didn't work for me.  Could there be another way?  Could it be a different problem all together?

Thanks,

James

• 4. Re: What password??
                TSGal

JamesSPG:

Thank you for your post.

If Admin with no password doesn't open the file, then you will need to go to a recent backup.  FileMaker will not restore passwords (unless by court order).

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 5. Re: What password??
                  WnPass

Installled FMP 10 last week, upgraded from 8.  Worked great for about five days and then this happened