10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2011 8:57 AM by FrankFarmer

What week am I in??

FrankFarmer

Title

What week am I in??

Hi,

I am new to FileMaker . I have searched and I cant find a solution to my problem.

I am trying to find what week we are in in relatation to known dates.

Fields I have.

DATE START - user enters date

DATE FINISH = START DATE + 56

DAYS TILL FINISH = DATE FINISH - Get ( CurrentDate )

IN WEEK = ??????

What I am looing for is that during week one (day 1 - 7) the result for IN WEEK will be 1. Week two or days 8-14 the result will be 2. Days 49 - 56 Week 8 etc...

Help Please...

Thanks

Frank

• 1. Re: What week am I in??
          philmodjunk

Ceiling ( (DATE FINISH - Get ( CurrentDate ) ) / 7 )

• 2. Re: What week am I in??
            FrankFarmer

Thank You!

That calculation works perfectly to find the weeks but its not quite what I am looking for. The above calculation says, Take The FINISH DATE and minus today's date then divide that by 7. it returns the weeks passed since the start date.

I need to have a return of "1" for days 1 - 7 and return "2" for days 8 - 14 so on and so on till week 8. I need the result so that I can look up what is needed in that week. I guess I could set a range but I would like to see it display the number of the week its in in relation to the start time.

Thanks again for any help you can give!

Frank

• 3. Re: What week am I in??
              Frinholp

Hi Frank

Floor ( Abs ( Get ( CurrentDate )  -  DATE FINISH ) /7 )

That should do it.

Here you are subtracting your finish date from your current date - this will give you a negative value.

The Abs function is the absolute value which is basically the positive equivalent e.g Abs ( -7 ) will become 7.

The Ceiling ( number )  rounds up to the nearest integer, you will need Floor ( number ) which rounds down.

Lee

• 4. Re: What week am I in??
                FrankFarmer

Hi Lee,

Thanks for your response.