4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2010 12:20 PM by marco96

What's up with the page margins?

marco96

Title

What's up with the page margins?

Hello again,

I know I am just a Rookie and I should already know this. Anyways, I don't understand the page margins (the heavy squiggly lines). I thought the "page setup" is what determines the print areas. I have the "page setup" for a 8x11 which works when I print it from layout A, but when I print from another layout it will not let me print the text on one page. It prints out one two pages even though it  can all fit on one page.

In the layout mode I can see two of the heavy squiggly lines (page margins ?) breaking up my page horizontally but I don't know how to move them out of the way. 

Thank for your help.

Marco 

• 1. Re: What's up with the page margins?
          philmodjunk

Filemaker uses two things to determine page breaks and the "rope" lines you see in layout mode report the result of those combined settings.

1. The current page size and orientation selected in print set up. (The options current when you entered layout mode--which may not be what's current when you actually print/preview/PDF from the layout.)
          2. Any margins and columns selected in layout setup...

To move the "rope lines", you have to change either of those settings.

• 2. Re: What's up with the page margins?
            marco96

Thank you Phil,

I used the layout set up and clicked "used fixed page margins" which are all set at around .25 but it still breaks up the page when printing. 

I checked the page set up before printing and it is still set up for a full page 8x11 

• 3. Re: What's up with the page margins?
              philmodjunk

Since I can't see your layout, I have to ask some questions just to rule out some obvious possibilities:

How do you know that the fields should all fit on one page?

Does your layout include large areas of white space at the bottom that you want to remove?