9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2010 8:04 AM by DieHardNewbie

Why FMP Auto-Creating Records When Other Record Created?

DieHardNewbie

Title

Why FMP Auto-Creating Records When Other Record Created?

I'm relatively new to FMPro. Using v11 to take our fleet of Excel.xlsx's to the next level. Here's the problem: I have a table I store just Global Variables in. I don't know why but whenever I create a record in it, it creates a record in a different table. If I delete a record in it, it deletes it in another table. My Global Variables table only needs one record. I'm not sure how all these got made in the first place or how this weird relationship started. I am using the file off my desktop and just saved it there from the network. Anyone out there know what is going on?

• 1. Re: Why FMP Auto-Creating Records When Other Record Created?
          philmodjunk

Not without knowing more about your database design.

A triggered script might be doing this. You might be entering data in a field to the related table when you thought it was a field in the Globals table. Other explanations are possible.

Describe any relationships you have linking your Globals table to the table where you are seeing this record related.

GlobalsTable::fieldName = RelatedTableName::FieldName

Is a simple way to document that.

Then make a detailed step by step description of what you are doing to "create a record" or to delete it.

• 2. Re: Why FMP Auto-Creating Records When Other Record Created?
            DieHardNewbie

the "Global_Variables" table only interacts with the "Productions" table when I am going to book equipment for a "production". I store the PRoductions ID, start time, and end time into the Global_Variables fields to store them while I move to the unrelated "Equipment" table to book equipment for the production.  Does that make sense?

• 3. Re: Why FMP Auto-Creating Records When Other Record Created?
              philmodjunk