8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2013 1:56 PM by jmickey

Won't back up new data

jmickey

Title

Won't back up new data

I have been using FM 9 for several years, backed up and transferred  data by copying 5.5 folder. Recently I installed FM9 on a computer with Windows 7. Now it will not back up any of the new records that I have created. It back ups the data to when I installed FM9 onto Windows 7. When I open FM9 all of the new records are there.

Does Windows 7 save new records at a different location ? Thanks

• 1. Re: Won't back up new data
          philmodjunk

All records are saved to the tables within the file there is no other location to which they would be "saved" unless a script is used to copy the records to a second location.

Exactly what do you mean by "Won't back up data"? Backing up your data usually means that you are saving an additional copy of your original data to a different location and this normally leave the original data unmodified in it's original location. There are quite a few ways you might set up a database file to back up your data, but I'm not sure that's really what you mean when you use the term "back up".

• 2. Re: Won't back up new data
            jmickey

tFM9 saves all my data / records in a file named 5.5 in the FM program, What I do is copy this file.

Since installing FM9 into the new computer it does't copy any new records, just the ones that were there when I installed FM9 in the new computer.

The new records are there, stored in the program, in the folder 5.5

• 3. Re: Won't back up new data
              philmodjunk

And what method did you set up to do this? (there are many different ways you might have used.)

What do you mean by "in the FM program"?

Is this "5.5" an actual FileMaker database file found on your computer? A folder on the computer? Or do you mean that this is a table inside your database file?

FM9 saves all my data / records in a file named 5.5 in the FM program