3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2009 7:29 PM by hiatts

Working like other RDBMS

Haseeb

Title

Working like other RDBMS

Hi
      As I am new in FM development. Had a training on FM Development. Also have experience SQL Server, Oracle, Access, FoxPro.
      From my understanding, FM is mostly click/drag-m-drop based friendly application development engine. Where Relationship and Table Occurrences are the main base for all type of processing and calculation.

Bearing the above background, my thoughts are still stick to Stored Procedures, SQLs, batch updates, Triggers.

I do not have problem with Catalog, Archive type databases because those type of databases uses less functions/calculations/processing of batch records.

But when I think about building financial type where Monthly,Yearly processing is needed or lets think about this Forum. This forum has lots of totals/numbers, linking to topics etc. features.

So is there any one who can guide me to the right path to show the secret/best practise of FM development.
      Or you can share some example sites for most common type data processing and solutions.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Working like other RDBMS
          TSGal

Haseeb:

Thank you for your post.

There are a number of third-party FileMaker Pro books.  You can perform web search using your favorite web search engine.

This forum is just over a year old, and there are other FileMaker forums.  One that comes immediately to mind is FMForums.com, and that forum has some more advanced topics.

If you are having trouble with any concept, feel free to post a question here or any other forum, and someone should reply.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: Working like other RDBMS
            philmodjunk

A few observations that may help you with that initial learning curve: