8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2010 8:35 AM by philmodjunk

Working with Many to Many Relationship Tables

tgold

Title

Working with Many to Many Relationship Tables

I am new to FileMaker.  I have done extensive databse work in AlphaFive, but have little hands on experience in FileMaker.  I have a complicated database schema which has many overlapping relationships.  Unfortunately, none of the books or forum questions seem to address (at least clearly for me) how to do the following.  I would greatly appreciate the pointers.

Specifically, I need to create scripts for buttons to perform the following functions on what I will refer to as  “Relationship” portals/browses:

“Add Relationship”.  Each relationship portal has a many-to-many joining table linking the current “core” record to another “core” record in another table (i.e. current “Contact” to “Company” or current “Contact” to “Property”, etc.).  The relationship is created by placing both the ID Key from the current core record and the ID Key from the “related” core record in the joining table.  Also contained in that joining table is the “status” of the relationship (i.e. “Active” a logical field – 1 or 0) and on some occasions, the type of relationship (i.e. “Main Company” a logical field – 1 or 0).  To “Add a Relationship” a new record would need to be created in the joining table, however, first a search would need to be performed to make sure that the record exists and if not, the ability to add a new record should be triggered (note: these would be the same sequence and steps used to enter the “core” record from any other location in the database as well).  Once the core record is added (if necessary), the script would enable the user to add the related core record to the joining table and any logical selections (i.e. “Active”, “Main”, etc.) could be made at that time.  This action would be launched by clicking on a button adjacent to the associated portal.