YAEQ - Reading and Writing files in scripts

gregdc

Title

YAEQ - Reading and Writing files in scripts

Yet another elementary question:

Background

In FM13 I have these tables

Person   Role   TempFile   ReportFile

I need to read from Role, retrieve some information from Person, and then Write that to TempFile.    I will then read TempFile do some calcs and write Records to ReportFile. 

Person is related to Role by a one-to-many relationship.  TempFile combines the info from Role & Person (FullName, RoleName, RoleStart, RoleEnd.   The TempFile is then processed to do the Summaries of For a given Year Who/how many are in a Role.  Those results are to be written to ReportFile and Displayed/Printed

(My background is Basic/Fortran/Procedural programing, and am very new to FM scripting) 

Now for the Elementary Question:

I have tried this

Go to Layout Role

Go to Record First

Loop

create a set of $Variables

GoTo Layout TempFile

Set Fields from $Variables

Commit Records

Go to Layout Original Layout

Go to record next, Exit after Last

End Loop

I am watching the TempFile in another window.  Records appear there, then disappear.    I do not see what I am doing wrong.   Could someone point me in the right direction?  Please!

GregDC

• 1. Re: YAEQ - Reading and Writing files in scripts
          philmodjunk

I can see the Fortran mind set here. But this is not Fortran, it's a relational database. You need to think in terms of tables and relationships first, then design a report layout that shows the results that you want.

Your script could be fixed--From the outline that you posted, it looks like you aren't creating new records and thus your data is overwriting the same record over and over again, but there's a much simpler way and there is really no need to copy data from one table to another when you can set up relationships to link to that data instead.