5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2013 9:01 AM by philmodjunk

Yearly reports

beachgrrrl

Title

Yearly reports

I am new to FileMaker - I have been using Bento since the days of Bento 1.0 to manage my website design business. However I have just got a new PC and hence the switch to FileMaker. I have managed to copy all my Bento tables and load them into FileMaker and make the relationships between the tables.

However, In Bento I have a table for Sales where I keep track of invoices, and below it I have Collections for Sales 2011, Sales 2012, etc. I cannot figure out how to make this happen in FileMaker. I did ceate a Layout which is quite lovely with Monthly subtotals, but it seems to report on the whole table - I can't find a way to limit it to one year only.

Please advise what is the best way to accomplish this.

• 1. Re: Yearly reports
          philmodjunk

How would you use such a "collection"? I'm not familiar with Bento so can't quite picture why you would do that and how you would use it.

In Filemaker, it's quite easy to perform a find to find all records dated for a given year on a layout designed to provide a summary report of that data.

You can set this up so that you specify a year in a field, click a button and the report based on all invoices dated for that year pops up on your screen.

• 2. Re: Yearly reports
            beachgrrrl

The Collection is a subset of the data in the parent table (called a Library in Bento). I enter my invoices in the 2013 Collection (for example) with net and total sales, tax, when paid I enter the paid amount and there is a calculation of Balance Owing so I can see who has not paid their invoices.

So with the Collection I can see totals to get a year to date picture of total sales, total paid, balance outstanding, etc. In my Client table, I have a portal (equivalent to a Related Records collection in Bento) to show the invoices for that client (for all years).