2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2013 7:21 AM by pmjd

Calculate rental price based on different rental rates per day?

pmjd

Title

Calculate rental price based on different rental rates per day?

Hello everyone,

I'm new to databases and evaluating Filemaker Pro to see if I could use it for our vehicle hire business. At the moment we still use paper rental agreements and a limited amount of very basic info is recorded in a spreadsheet to calculate our insurance payments (which is based on a % of revenue).

Filemaker Pro has given me a lot of exciting (well to me they are lol) ideas that I would love to put in to practice but I need some help with a few basics first and I am looking for a few pointers in the right direction to help get me started

I have a table called BOOKINGS. Within it are the start date/time and end date/time for a rental. I have set up a calculation that returns this as the number of days, with a minimum value of 1 day and increasing in 0.5 day increments depending on the time difference. I would like to be able to automatically calculate the cost of a rental, which is based on three criteria:

1) Pricing Scheme - We have different pricing for different seasons and types of customer

2) Vehicle Type - each rental vehicle class has it's own pricing rates

3) Rental Daily Rate - for 1 - 7 days the rental rates are different and the daily rate decreases until 7 days where that is the lowest daily rate available.

So I have a pricing table which has the following entries:

scheme_name | vehicle_type | one_day | two_day | three_day | four_day | five_day | six_day | seven_day | over_seven |

i.e. standard     |     economy    |       32      |       64     |            84     |       114   |        135   |     150    |         175     |         25         |