6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2015 10:42 AM by sujastanly

Calculate Time in and Time out

sujastanly

Title

Calculate Time in and Time out

Dear Forum members,

I am new to filemaker. Have a table to monitor staff timein and timeout details. When a staff scan their ID card, the time they scan is captured  using get(currenttime). If the staff goes out, again the card is swiped, and this time  I need the time to be accepted in  timeout field, but the process creates a new record. 

Any help is appreciated..

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Calculate Time in and Time out
          philmodjunk

I suggest that you use get ( Timestamp )  if it is ever possible for someone to enter before midnight and leave after midnight.

But you'll need to tell us how you have set up your system before we can suggest ways to modify it in order to get what you want.

I'd guess that you have a scanner working in Keyboard emulation mode, but that's just a guess. And if so, it's a matter of how you set up the scanner and your database that will control what happens each time a card is scanned.

• 2. Re: Calculate Time in and Time out
            sujastanly

Thanks for the response. The system is not fully automated. I have a layout set up to scan the ID card manually into the Staff ID field and it gets updated in Staff attendance table. In Staff attendance table has Date(Get(CurrentDate))- Auto entered Calculated field, StaffID, Time in and timeout. Each Time the ID is scanned the table gets updated and I could see the details using a portal in my Master staff details table. I attach the screen shots.

Thanks.

• 3. Re: Calculate Time in and Time out
              philmodjunk

If it is not fully automated, why/how is it creating new records?

I am assuming that you are tracking the entrance and exit of employees. I realize they might be tenants or "guests", but the process is the same: