1 2 3 Previous Next 44 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2014 6:18 AM by hllp

Calculate Weekly amount in Planned-Giving Database

hllp

Title

Calculate Weekly amount in Planned-Giving Database

I am creating a database for Planned-Giving in my parish. I need some guidance on how to calculate an amount base on 2 fields:

Frequency = Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly, Quarterly, Half Yearly and Yearly

Amount Pledged = (Amount base on the Frequency)

The other field is a Calculation field (Weekly Amount). I want to calculation the weekly amount base on the Frequency.

I am new to Filemaker Pro therefore any help would be very grateful.

• 1. Re: Calculate Weekly amount in Planned-Giving Database
          philmodjunk

And from what kind of table of data will you be computing this value?

Do you have a table where each gift is logged, recording the date, the amount and the ID of the donor?

Do you have a second table where you have one record for each parish member (or at least each donor)? With a field for recording their pledge amount?

• 2. Re: Calculate Weekly amount in Planned-Giving Database
            philmodjunk

And in the table where each gift is logged, is each such donation logged as a separate record?

• 3. Re: Calculate Weekly amount in Planned-Giving Database
              hllp

Thanks for responding so quicly.

I have got the following:

Household; Members; Planned-Giving and Weekly Record

The calculation will be done in Planned-Giving.

Yes, I have a weekly record to lodge the amount each week.

In the fields in the Planned-Giving Database are:

Member ID; Pledged_ID; Envelope#; Financial Year; Frequency; Amount Pledged; Weekly Amount; Status (Active or Inactive); !st Quarter Total; 2nd Quarter Total; 3rd Quarter Total; 4th Quarter Total; Address to (Mr & Mrs  etc); Last Name (Lookup from Members.)

Another Question?