5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2012 6:12 AM by GuyStevens

Copying Layouts

coralieo'brien

Title

Copying Layouts

Hi All

I am new to FM and am just playing about to see if it can do what I need.

I cannot find an answer to this in the help - can layouts be copied from one file to another?

If I had mulitple files of the same format and wanted to use the same layout on all how would I go about this?

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Copying Layouts
          GuyStevens

Easiest thing to do is to go to "File" - "Manage" - "Layouts"

Select the layout you want to copy and hit "Diplucate" on the bottom of the window.

Then Select the new layout and click "Edit" and point the new layout to another table.

Then it's just a matter of pointing the fields on your layout to the felds in the new table.

• 2. Re: Copying Layouts
            coralieo'brien

Hi

Thanks for that

When I go to this option and where it says show records from - there is a drop down list here but all my files are not showing there.

So my new file that I want to point this layout to is not there?

• 3. Re: Copying Layouts
              philmodjunk

The drop down will list table occurrences--the boxes found in Manage | Database | Relationships that represent tables and which are linked to each other in relationships.

You'll need to decide whether it matters if the new layout is in the same file as the original layout or must be located in the file where the table is defined.

If it is OK to include the layout in the same file as the original layout so long as it refers to the correct table from the other file, you can go to Manage |Database | relationships and add a table occurrence that uses an external flie reference that refers to the table in the other file. Then, the table occurrence thus created will appear in the "show records from" drop down.