14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2013 10:43 PM by JohhnyHilly

Last created record changing by itself

JohhnyHilly

Title

Last created record changing by itself

Hi, I'm new to FileMaker so please bear with me.

I am creating new records but for some reason the last record I enter changes by itself once I go to another layout. So for example, I have a "Company" field and a "Vessel Name" field. When I create the new record, I choose a company from a drop down list (value list) already created, then I type in the name of the vessel I want to add.

When I leave this layout, go to another and come back, the company name has changed by itself to another company name from the same value list, while leaving the vessel name as I typed it. That is for the last record entered. The thing is, if I go and create a new record again, the one before that is now correct and the last entered record is again changing itself.

I'm not sure if this is clear or if anyone needs an image of the relationships to find the problem.

Any help would be much appreciated!!

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Last created record changing by itself
          philmodjunk

You'll need to tell us a lot more about your database.

I'd guess that you have two tables, one for companies and one for vessels. How the two are related and how you have designed this layout will likely explain the change that you are seeing.

Also when you change layouts, what are you then doing? Perhaps you are performing a find on it?

• 2. Re: Last created record changing by itself
            JohhnyHilly

Hi Phil,

Yes correct, 2 tables. One for Contacts (company comes under this table as a field) and one for vessels. I have attached 2 images, one for the table and one for the relationship. I'm not sure if you can tell anything by these images.