5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2011 12:18 PM by philmodjunk

need some basic help!!!

aracelislantigua

Title

need some basic help!!!

Hey there,

I'm new to filemaker pro and confused. I have 2 databases to work with. I have to get the information from one added to the other. Now, I have managed to make a script to import the records. However, every time I try to import the records to the form view it tells me that there aren't enough records to transfer the information. If I go to form view and add new records then the script will transfer it - no problem. but that would seem like such a hassle. How would I get the script to create a new record for each new record being imported? step by step, simple basic steps would be great. I'm not a big IT person. 

Thanks in advance,

Aracelis

• 1. Re: need some basic help!!!
          philmodjunk

It would be useful to tell us exactly what you want to do and why. It's possible that you do not need to import records like this at all. Frankly, I'm at a bit of a loss as to how you are getting a "not enough records" message in the first place as this is not how the Import Records tool normally works. Perhaps you are running a script (clicking a button perhaps?) to import the records and it is displaying such a message. If so, we'd need to look at that script.

This is the basic process for importing records. Please do two things before trying to do this again:

1. Make a back up copy of your file--this way you can easily start over if the import records process doesn't work the way you wanted.
          2. Read up on Import Records in fileMaker help. There are a lot of options you can choose from when importing records and this can help you better pick the correct options.