6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2009 4:30 AM by macpublish

Upgrade path help please?

macpublish

Title

Upgrade path help please?

I have been using various versions of Filemaker since the early 1990s but I stopped at version 6.0v4. I am currently running a Mac G4 Quicksilver w/ Tiger (10.4.11). I use many, many FM databases to run my business and personal life. Now I need to upgrade to a new Mac and I assume that it will come with 10.6. So my questions are:

Will my version of Filemaker ( 6.0v4) work with the new Mac? If not, what is the next version of FM (not necessarily the latest) that will work on a new iMac running 10.6. And will this version convert my databases automatically from version 6? I know FM changed its underlying structure at some point after I stopped upgrading (haxy memory here) so I am concerned about my scripts, related files, etc. I have some printed reports but I could touch those up if need be. If I have to do a lot of work to port my databases over, I would consider another solution...such as using a dedicated mac to run it as a legacy system. But that would be less than ideal.

I appreciate any thoughts, info, comments. 

• 1. Re: Upgrade path help please?
          davidanders

Filemaker 5.5 runs on Leopard. Have not had the opportunity to run a test on Snow Leopard.

Webtube anedotes indicate it will, depending on the complexity of the databases.

It is not supported by Filemaker.

I have only done a few FMP 5 or 6 to FMP10.

There can be issues with complexity and database corruption that are ignored by early versions and cause problems with current versions.

DO THE FOLLOWING ON A SAVE AS COMPACT COPY OF THE DATABASE.

I would recommend to do a Recover database in FMP6, do the conversion into FMP10, do a Recover in FMP10 and testing.

This is probably overkill, however...

• 2. Re: Upgrade path help please?
            macpublish