1 Reply Latest reply on May 6, 2011 4:39 PM by philmodjunk

Upgrading from Access Questions

rmittelman

Title

Upgrading from Access Questions

Hi,

I'm trying to redo an Access app in FM Pro.  I'm quite new to FM, so need to know if I can do these things.  The Access app is for awarding financial aid to college students.

1:  There are multiple schools in a Schools table, with an auto-incrementing ID column.  The user starts the app and chooses a school and a fiscal year (09-10, 10-11, etc).  This becomes the "active" school and year.  Everything done thereafter is relative to those items.  I guess I need to create a layout to display available choices and allow user to pick them, and a "current data" table to store the chosen values to, so during the session they are available.  Is this right?

2:  The app is multi-user.  Several people may be in the app, each working on a different school.  How would I set up this table mentioned above so each user has their own default school and year?

3:  The app requires that after choosing the active school and year, I write some information into the Windows registry, in known registry keys.  How can I do that with FM Pro?

4:  The app requires obtaining a data record from an external Access database.  The criteria values to obtain this record are readily available on my FM Pro layout.  The question is, can I build an access query to get that record and populate various field values into the active layout?