5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2015 5:54 AM by erawson

Upload Images to Another Server

KristopherKruger

Title

Upload Images to Another Server

I'm relatively new to FMP 13 - have had previous experience with a much older FMP.  

I'm creating a database for a foundation that will receive hundreds of images.  Instead of storing those images on the FMP Server, I would like to store them on their website server which has unlimited space.  They will only refer to the images for a short period of time, but need to keep them "attached" to the record for at least five years. 

Each record will contain about 3-5 images.  

My question is how to create an "uploader" in FMP and "send" that file to another server - while keeping a link to that image in the record for future reference.

Any help would be much appreciated. 

• 1. Re: Upload Images to Another Server
          philmodjunk

I suggest that you investigate the external storage option for a container field. This sounds like  a case where you can specify a location on the server as your external storage location. When you insert a file into the container field, FileMaker will copy the file to the external storage location and then the container field refers to the copy stored at this external storage location.

• 2. Re: Upload Images to Another Server
            KristopherKruger

Thank you!  I will check that out.

• 3. Re: Upload Images to Another Server
              erawson

I have done something very similar to what you are talking about using custom web publishing. I have a PHP script which retrieves an image from a container field in the filemaker records and writes it to the web server's file system.

Here is a small snippet of the PHP code:

$url = $record->getField('web__thumbnail');
              $thumbnail = $fm->getContainerDataURL($url);
              // Search for the extension of the file
              $extension = pathinfo($url, PATHINFO_EXTENSION);