certain url's / with web portal cause FM13 to crash

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

Filemaker Pro 13.0 v3

Operating system version

Windows 7

Description of the issue

I'm new to FM13, but previously experienced similar problem with either FM12, or FM11 - where it seems to have been resolved.

In short, some stored url values that work perfectly ok in IE, Firefox, & other browsers cause FM13 to crash when layout with web viewer attempting to display that url is accessed.   Can't even deleted the url value or record without accessing via alternate layout lacking the web viewer.

I've used web viewer in various layouts ever since it was first introduced.   Thousands of urls I store launch in web viewer without problem.   Some websites appear to use technology which doesn't bother IE or Firefox, but makes FM13 very unhappy.  See below.

Steps to reproduce the problem

display the url via webviewer:

http://www.gq.com/entertainment/celebrities/201404/ryan-mcginley-photographer

Expected result

display page

Actual result

crash FM13

Exact text of any error message(s) that appear

Filemaker has stopped working and needs to close.

fm13-crash.jpg

• 1. Re: certain url's / with web portal cause FM13 to crash
          TSGal

Andrew Eskind:

Thank you for your post.

I am unable to replicate the issue.  I have launched FileMaker Pro 13.0v3 on a Windows 7 Professional computer, created a database file, and on a layout, only created a Web Viewer with the URL described above.  I did not have any issues.  To be certain, I also tried this under Mac OS X 10.9.5.

Do you still crash if you create a new blank layout with only the Web Viewer?  If so, try creating a new database file with the Web Viewer URL above.  Does this work?  I'm trying to determine if this is a layout issue, a file issue, or a FileMaker/system issue.

TSGal
          FileMaker, Inc.

• 2. Re: certain url's / with web portal cause FM13 to crash
            AndrewEskind

Thanks, TSGal,