AnsweredAssumed Answered

Changed Behavior: Deleting Portal Record Changed

Question asked by CharlesVallhonrat on Jun 3, 2015
Latest reply on Aug 4, 2015 by philmodjunk

Summary

Changed Behavior: Deleting Portal Record Changed

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

Filemaker Pro 14 Advanced

Operating system version

Mac OS X Yosemite (10.10.3)

Description of the issue

Opened database created in FMP 13 Adv in FMP 14 Adv. In db, I have portal with a list of employees for the master company record I am looking at. In the portal, there is a button that brings up a pop-up with more information on the employee. On that window I have a button that allows you to delete the employ from the company.

Steps to reproduce the problem

Always reproducible.

Expected result

In FMP 13 Adv, when you press the button, a dialog box pops up asking if you want to delete the master record or just the one related record (employee). After you select, another dialog box asks if you are sure you want to delete this master/related record (depending on which you choose).

Actual result

In FMP 14 Adv, when you press the button, you do not receive a choice between the master and the related record. The dialog ask if you want to delete the entire record.

Nothing changed in the database. I can switch between versions (from 13 to 14 and vice versa) with the same database file and see the difference in behavior.

I lost a master record for a company when I was deleting one of their employees, because I was expecting a different dialog box and didn't pay enough attention to the message.

Outcomes