1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2013 10:11 AM by Fred(CH)

Continuing Font Issues!

CSdesigns

Summary

Continuing Font Issues!

Description of the issue

If I click a button to make a font a bold, italic, or bold italic, FileMaker merely "stylizes" the font, rather than finding the correct Postscript or OT font. This makes my layouts look BAD, and, as a graphic designer, this is important to me.  This has been an issue for as long as I can remember (and I've been using the program for 15 years!). It needs to be fixed, as most software programs will bother to look for the correct font, rather than just applying a clunky-looking style. Please help with this issue! 

• 1. Re: Continuing Font Issues!
          TSGal

CSdesigns:

Thank you for your post.

On my Macintosh, running OS X 10.5.6, I selected a field using Helvetica and changed it to Bold.  If I launch Apple Pages and Microsoft Word, use Helvetica and change it to Bold, the information display appears to look the same in FileMaker Pro, and even when I zoom in to 200%.

Let me know what font you are using, and I will try to duplicate it here.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: Continuing Font Issues!
            CSdesigns

Thanks for the reply. This happens on any font I use whatsoever, however, try the Helvetica that comes with the Mac OS (it's a .dfont).

And you've got me wondering if the programs you've named do the same "stylizing" thing rather than using the correct font on the fly. Maybe you could send me a screen shot of how it looks at your end of things??

• 3. Re: Continuing Font Issues!
              philmodjunk

I question the statement "most software programs will bother to look for the correct font".  Perhaps you could list some programs that do this?

It seems to me that most office type applications simply apply styles to text in same manner as Filemaker.

If you use True Type fonts, this would seem to be a non-issue completely wouldn't it?