Are you saying actual data was lost or only the graph settings?
graph settings were lost, all in the settings entered data :-(
Thank you for the post.
Cancel an operation or dialog box Esc
The article referenced can be found here:
My tests indicate this behavior was identical in FileMaker Pro 11.
Yet since other dialogs warn about lost settings, it may be a nice new feature if this dialog and similar ones popped up a warning when they are cancelled.
Thank You for Your answer!
You are correct - but pressing esc in the define fields/database/etc window will bring up a dialog, asking if You really... In the define-graph window, one can enter a lot of data for a graph - and lose quite some time :-(
I believe that just because an older version did it the same, thats no reason to leave it that way (-:
it's kind of similar to my other post about losing entered data in fields on iOS - it's the normal behavior on desktop FM, but on an iOS device one counts on the fact that files were not closed by the system..
I think we cannot call it it a bug for another additional simple reason that was not noticed on this thread previously :
A graph is a layout object.
I tested theses : Add a Field object Add a Button Add a Tab control Add a Portal Add a Graph (of course) Add a Web Viewer
All have a dialog box with the same behavior… Even FileMaker is not perfect, it is just consistant here.
Many of theses dialogs have also complex settings and we are able do define, for instance, calculations and script steps on it.
So i suggest you to keep these in mind when you will write the details of your Feature Request, as suggested by Phil.
Good Luck !