AnsweredAssumed Answered

Customize status toolbar

Question asked by dburnham on Aug 11, 2015
Latest reply on Aug 11, 2015 by dburnham

Summary

Customize status toolbar

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

14

Operating system version

Mac OS-X 10.10.4

Description of the issue

Customize status toolbar is saved to preferences in Layout Mode and Preview Mode but in Browse mode, the settings are forgotten whenever a database is closed. 

The particularly distressing (risky) thing about this is that the FIND icon in Find Mode is directly located where the Delete icon is in Browse mode.  Sometimes a single click on the Find icon is interpreted as a double click and then you see the message asking you if you really want to delete the current record.  You wonder -- why is it asking me about deleting a record when all I did was perform a find?  The reason is the location of the icons in the status toolbar.

This is one of many reasons why I want to modify the status toolbar for Browse mode but I find that I have to customize the status toolbar about 20 times each day.   Very annoying.

BTW - I have studied this for weeks before writing this to make sure it is not my iMac that is at fault.  I see the same behavior on my MacBook Pro too.

Steps to reproduce the problem

Customize the Browse mode status toolbar.   Close a file and/or exit the application.

Expected result

Your settings will be saved with the application, not any individual file.

Actual result

They are not saved with the application.  The defaults re-appear.

Exact text of any error message(s) that appear

none, except for the above described "do you want to delete" warning.

Configuration information

I can't say whether the issue manifests with hosted files versus local files, but in any event, the toolbar settings are supposed to save with the Application.

Workaround

none, I regret.

Outcomes