Thank you for your post.
When a file is paused, connected clients can still read the data from the database but they will be unable to modify the database until the database is "Resumed" (unpaused). If you don't want clients to have access to the file, then "Close" the database. For more information, see page 106 of the FileMaker Server 13 Help at:
Fair enough, my bad. Topic can be removed or moved to another section.