Summary

Filemaker Pro 12, suddenly requiring password

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

Operating system version

Mac 10.5.9

Description of the issue

I have been using this database for 3 years.  Today I built a new database, completely separate and worked on it for a couple of hours.  When I went to open my original client database tonight it is asking for a password!  I have never assigned a password, never been asked for a password on this database.  I do not know why it is suddenly asking for a password.  I desperately need to access this file.  I signed in to the forum but find no fixes even though it seems others have had a FM file suddenly be locked for password!

• 1. Re: Filemaker Pro 12, suddenly requiring password
          Fred(CH)

If FileMaker is asking for a password i think it *inevitably* means that a password was defined.

A common cause in OS X is when a keychain entry was added for a while, and afterwards, this entry was not recognized anymore. It could happen for instance if you rename the database file. Are you able to check your Keychain to see if it is the case ? Or rename back your file ? If the answer is no to both, you could try to simply restart your computer to see if the entry keychain is now recognized. 

Another possible cause is when an auto log-in was initially defined in file options (Menu File > File Options…) and afterwards, it was cleared. Here it could be more difficult to recover it.

All other information you could provide us could be helpful.

• 2. Re: Filemaker Pro 12, suddenly requiring password
            TSGal

adobelady:

Thank you for your post.

The information from "Fred" is correct (Thank you!).