AnsweredAssumed Answered

FileMaker reports fields as being used in Privilege when they're not

Question asked by nickorr on Sep 3, 2010
Latest reply on Oct 1, 2010 by TSGal

Summary

FileMaker reports fields as being used in Privilege when they're not

Version

FMPA 11v3

Operating system version

Mac OS 10.6.4

Description of the issue

When you have a Privilege Set that uses the "Limited" privilege for a table, and then you change that back to either Yes or No, the fields in the Privilege Set are still referenced and you get warnings when you try to delete fields.

Steps to reproduce the problem

Create a new file with a single table and a single field.  Go to the Security settings and add a new privilege set.  Change the Data Access for Records to Custom, and for one of the options, like View, change it to Limited.  Enter a calculation that includes the field from the table.  Ok all of the dialogs and leave Manage Security.

Go back into Manage Security, and leave the Data Access at Custom but change any of the options to Yes or No instead of limited, so that the calculations are no longer being used.  Leace the Manage security and ok all of the dialogs.

Go into field definitions and try to delete the field.  It warns you first about deleting the field and then tells you that you can't delete it as it's in use by the Privilege Set you first defined, even though it's no longer in use.

Expected result

The delete option shouldn't refer to privilege set calculations that are no longer being used.

This would be consistent with other places, like a Go To Layout step that has a "By Name" calc and is changed to Original Layout or a Field definition that has an auto enter calc that is turned off.

In both cases, the step or the field will remember the calculation, but it doesn't refer to it in the process of deleting the fields used, and doesn't give you the warning.

I would expect it to behave the same way in all situations, so either always show the alert or always not.

Actual result

You get the alert for fields that are no longer used in Privileges, but not in steps or field calculations.

Exact text of any error message(s) that appear

"FieldName" cannot be deleted because it is used by the privilege "PrivilegeSetName".

Workaround

You have to manually find the part of the Privilege set that used to have a calculation, and change it back to limited, then delete the calc, then ok the dialog and change it back again to what it was.

And you have to repeat this for every place the field was used.

Outcomes