AnsweredAssumed Answered

FileMaker Server Ghost user (Open DBs = 0)

Question asked by MattHirons on Aug 12, 2011
Latest reply on Oct 11, 2011 by MattHirons

Summary

FileMaker Server Ghost user (Open DBs = 0)

Product

FileMaker Server

Version

11v3

Operating system version

Windows Server 2008 R2

Description of the issue

In certain circumstances, a user will show connected to the server with 0 Open DBs, even though they have disconnected and have closed FileMaker Pro.

Steps to reproduce the problem

Requires 2 files hosted on FileMaker Server with the same username, but different passwords.

Open "File 1"
Log in with your username and password.
Open "File 2"
You will be prompted to enter your credentials.
Instead, click Change Password and change your password.

Expected result

The Admin Console Connected Clients list will show the user once with 2 Open DBs.  When the user exits FileMaker Pro, they no longer show in the list of Connected Clients.

Actual result

The Admin Console Connected Clients list will show the user twice.  Once with 2 Open DBs and once with 0 Open DBs.  When the user exits FileMaker Pro, the list of Connected Clients still shows the user connected once with 0 Open DBs.

At this point, the only way to get rid of the Ghost user is to restart the server.

Configuration information

FileMaker Server 11v3 on Windows Server 2008 R2
FileMaker Pro 11v3 on Windows 7

I don't know what the results are on a Mac.

Workaround

None that I have found.

GhostUser.JPG

Outcomes