Summary

FM Pro 11 crashes during ODBC import

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

Operating system version

Mac 10.5.8

Description of the issue

I am a developer and we have our own ODBC driver.
      When I attempt to import data into Filemaker, Filemaker crashes.
      I have debugged in our driver and it appears that when Filemaker calls SQLBindCol, it passes a value in cbValueMax which is 4 times larger than the rgbValue buffer. So when our driver trusts the cbValueMax, it ends up overwriting some data, which then causes random crashes in Filemaker.

Steps to reproduce the problem

Import data through ODBC.

Expected result

Success

Actual result

Crash

Configuration information

It is possible that Filemaker is using the field length from the external table to determine the buffer size - so if most drivers will only give the amount of data that they show as the column length, that might avoid triggering this bug. Our driver reports a column length, but if asked for more data than that, is willing to give it.

Workaround

In gdb, If I change the value of cbValueMax each time that SQLBindCol is called, I can avoid the crash.

• 1. Re: FM Pro 11 crashes during ODBC import
          TSGal

Julian Devlin:

Thank you for your post.

I would first read the Technology Brief "Introduction to External SQL Sources" located at:

http://help.filemaker.com/ci/fattach/get/6696/1184016438

Also, please see Knowledge Base Article #6420 "Which ODBC drivers are supported with External SQL Data Sources?" at:

http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6420

To answer you question, yes, FileMaker Pro uses the field length from the External Table to determine the buffer size.

TSGal
          FileMaker, Inc.

• 2. Re: FM Pro 11 crashes during ODBC import
            JulianDevlin

TSGal - thank you for the links.

I'm  familiar with how ODBC works - and in general, Filemaker works with our driver.

However, I still believe there is a bug in Filemaker.