1 2 Previous Next 29 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2016 6:40 AM by TSGal

Get( ModifiedFields ) doesn't work on new record that hasn't been committed

Jeremiah_Hammond

Summary

Get( ModifiedFields ) doesn't work on new record that hasn't been committed

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

13v5

Operating system version

OS X 10.10.2

Description of the issue

Get( ModifiedFields ) should return a list of fields that have been modified in the current record but it doesn't return anything if the record is new (aka it's never been committed to the database). As a FileMaker developer, I would expect this function to work no matter if the record is new or existing.

Steps to reproduce the problem

1. Open up Data Viewer and add an expression that outputs Get( ModifiedFields ) so you can monitor it during the steps below.
      2. Create a new record, and make sure *not* to commit to the database.
      3. Modify one or two fields. Again, don't commit.
      4. Notice that Get( ModifiedFields ) is blank.

Expected result

Get( ModifiedFields ) should return the fields you modified.

Actual result

Get( ModifiedFields ) doesn't return anything.

Exact text of any error message(s) that appear

N/A

Configuration information

Also doesn't work on Pro 13v4 on Windows.

Workaround

None

• 1. Re: Get( ModifiedFields ) doesn't work on new record that hasn't been committed
          philmodjunk

This would seem to be expected behavior. The changes aren't actually changes until they are committed back to the file.

• 2. Re: Get( ModifiedFields ) doesn't work on new record that hasn't been committed
            Jeremiah_Hammond