4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2010 9:51 PM by Richly

Go To Next Field initialization

Richly

Summary

Go To Next Field initialization

Description of the issue

I'm new to FileMaker Pro. Using FM11 on Windows XP SP3.In a script, I've tried the following (the names have been changed to protect the innocent):  Go to Field [T1::F3]  Go to Next Fieldwhere field F1 is the field assigned tab order 1, F2 is tab order 2, etc. (I've left out the code setting variables to field names that shows what's happening and the looping that was supposed to step through all the fields.)The result is that the active field starts at F3, as expected, but the next field is F1 and not F4. From the documentation, Go to Next Field moving to F1 is what I would expect if I hadn't done the Go to Field before it.  It's as though the Go to Field did not initialize something it should have.  What am I missing?  

• 1. Re: Go To Next Field initialization
          philmodjunk

I just tested this using Filemaker 11 advanced on a Windows XP SP 3 system. I can't replicate this bug.

I defined three fields, Field 1, Field 2 , Field 3. Their default tab order matches the numbers in their field names.

My script:

Go To Field [Table::Field 2]

Go To Next Field

I ran this several times with the cursor in different fields or after clicking the layout background to keep the cursor out of all the fields. In each case the cursor was placed in Field 3 as I would expect.

Unless I've done something differently than you, try this:

Create a new layout and test this issue on the new layout.

It's possible that your layout is corrupted. ( I've had Go To Field refuse to place the cursor in the correct field with filemaker 10 until I rebuilt the layout so this may also be the case here.)

• 2. Re: Go To Next Field initialization
            Richly

Thanks for the quick response. I did create another layout, similar to the first, and it behaved as it should, not as the original one did.