Having Drop-down boxes over-ride each other

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

11.0 v2

Operating system version

Windows Vista

Description of the issue

Yes, I am a newbie to Filemaker and I am transitioning from MS Access and can't figure out how to do this in FMP 11.

I have 2 tables Student and Classes.  Because they are Many-to-Many relationship I also have a Stud_Class table as shown below:

Students >--Stud_Cour --< Courses

Our Administrator wants us to have a form which displays the Student information and a portal which shows the Courses the student wants to take using a Drop-Down box.  The Courses have a Course Number, ex. MAT001 and a Course Name, ex. MATH 101.

What she wants to be able to do is click on the Course Number drop-down box and select a Course Number and it automatically fills in the Course Name.  She also wants to be able to click on the Course Name drop-down box and have it update the Course Number box.  I know this overrides the other drop-down box but that is what she wants.

Can somebody help with this please?

• 1. Re: Having Drop-down boxes over-ride each other
          philmodjunk

You're almost there

I'm assuming these relationship details:

Students----<Stud_Cour>-----Courses (>---- means many to one)

Students::StudentID = Stud_Cour::StudentID
          Courses::CourseID = Stud_Cour::CourseID

With "allow creation of records via this relaationship" enabled for Stud_Cour in the Students to Stud_Cour relationship.

Put a portal (think Access sub form or sub report ) to Stud_Cour on a layout based on Students.
          Put Stud_Course::CourseID in this portal and format it with a drop down list of couse ID numbers from Courses. (A Course Name field can be included as a second column of info in this value list.)

Add the Course Name field (and any others you need) from the Course table to this portal row and you'll see this info appear when a CourseID is selected in the drop down.