Summary

Memory leak with FMPro 14?

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

Operating system version

Windows 7 64-bit, 6 GB ram

Description of the issue

I am new to Filemaker, but had been using the 30-day trial without issues.

Today I installed Filemaker Pro 14, which worked fine initially. However, after a while (about an hour of the program being open) my computer became very slow and Filemaker was unresponsive.

After looking at the task manager and opening and closing various problems, it became clear that when Filemaker is open the physical memory usage climbs up until it reaches about 98 percent, at which point the computer becomes nearly unresponsive. When Filemaker is closed, the physical memory usage drops back to normal and the computer starts to respond normally again.

I am new to Filemaker, so I do not know - is this a problem with the new version, or has it been an issue before?

Steps to reproduce the problem

I have reproduced this problem several times today - after about an hour of use, FMPro 14 is using too much RAM and the computer becomes unresponsive.

• 1. Re: Memory leak with FMPro 14?
          VincentL

are you editing several scripts (several scripts opened in script maker), and with large script maker windows ?

• 2. Re: Memory leak with FMPro 14?
            KatherineMcDonald

Sorry, I'm not sure what "script" means in this context, but I don't think that was what I was doing. I'll describe more closely what I was doing anyway.

I had started building a database in the free trial version. The database has about 900 entries, and around 20 fields to each entry. The fields are all text or containers. The containers generally contain photographs, probably several thousand in total. The database is saved on dropbox. All of this was put together on the trial version of FileMaker Pro without issues.

When the problem occurred, I was adding text to one of the text fields on each entry. I only had one FileMaker window open, on Form View.