AnsweredAssumed Answered

New database additions not immediately seen by clients

Question asked by scottworld on Nov 10, 2010
Latest reply on Dec 9, 2010 by TSGal

Summary

New database additions not immediately seen by clients

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

11.0v3

Operating system version

Mac OS X 10.6.4

Description of the issue

FileMaker Server 11.0v2 running on Mac OS X 10.6.4
15 Mac client machines on the local area network running FileMaker Pro 11.0v2 or 10.0v3 on Mac OS X 10.6.4.

I open the database with full access from a client machine on the local area network and make some additions to the database: (1) I add a new field to a table and place it on a layout, or (2) I add a new script step to an existing script, or (3) I add a new custom menu to an existing menu set. I save all my changes and quit out of FileMaker Pro. (I'm actually using FileMaker Pro ADVANCED 10.0v3 to make my changes.)

None of the other clients see the changes that I've added. (1) If I added a brand new field into the database & place it on a layout, they'll actually SEE the new field on the layout but it says "

". (2) If they run the script that I added the script step to, it will skip over the new script step as if it never existed. (3) And if I add a new custom menu to an existing menu set, they'll see "" in the menu bar.

The fix is simple, but a major pain in the ass. The user has to completely quit out of FileMaker Pro and relaunch it, and then everything is fine again.

I've never experienced this before when working in FileMaker. Typically, any changes that I make are instantly seen by everybody on the network. But now, I always have to have everybody quit & relaunch FileMaker after each change I make.

This is a huge step backwards in usability -- I can't be having my users quit & relaunch FileMaker all day long, but that's exactly what they have to do.

Outcomes