Summary

New to Filemaker

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

Operating system version

Mac OS X

Description of the issue

I am new to Filemaker and want to make sure it is the right product for my company.  I have 3 questions I need help with. 

1)  How is the best way to flag duplicate entries if they happen?
      2)  Along with Flagging these entries, how is the best way for new information to update an existing record on a possible duplicate?  (In Access you could run an Update Query)
      3)  How can you "Append" data in filemaker like you an in Access?

• 1. Re: New to Filemaker
          philmodjunk

I can see that you are also new to this forum Wink

You've posted your question to a section of the forum intended for reporting possible bugs with Filemaker products.

(You did see the notice:

Report an Issue is for bug reports.If you have a question about how to use a FileMaker product, please post that question to one of the other forums (FileMaker Forum, FileMaker Server Forum or FileMaker Go Forum) that have been set up for that purpose.

Didn't you?)

I'll be glad to answer your questions, but suggest you click the FM Pro Forum tab at the top of this screen if you have any additional questions to ask about the product as questions posted there will be seen by many more people and thus will gather more responses.

1) The best way is to not permit them in the first place with a good interface design, but you can set a unique values validation rule that can pop up a message you specify when a duplicate value is entered into a field where you've specified this validation rule. You can also devise scripts that perform more sophisticated validation checks when the "onObjectValidation" script trigger is tripped.