Summary

On First Window Open Question

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

Operating system version

Windows

Description of the issue

I have created an Order System for IT parts.  I'm very new to FileMaker so please excuse my lack of knowledge.  I have created a layout for Desktop and the Web for Web Direct.  When I start a new record via my Desktop, a new order request is started fine.  However, we I try to start a new order request via Web Direct, on open, instead of a blank order form (it shows the last order request) and when I click new record, it adds a blank line in my item table.  I can't find a way to not show the last record when opening my order system and how to prevent a blank line showing in my items to be ordered.  I am attaching a picture of my order form and the script I'm using for OnFirstWindowOpen.

Steps to reproduce the problem

Tried changing different calls but I'm very new and still learning the program.

FirstWindowScript.jpg

• 1. Re: On First Window Open Question
          JasonHillier

Sorry, it wouldn't allow me to post more than 1 picture. Here is the other picture for my post.

• 2. Re: On First Window Open Question
            TSGal

Jason Hillier:

Thank you for your post.

No need to apologize for your "lack of knowledge".  Everybody who visits this forum is at some stage of learning FileMaker Pro.

In FileMaker Pro, the previous record would also be briefly displayed before adding a record.  You are noticing it more in Web Direct as FileMaker Pro takes a little longer to produce the code so it can be viewed in a web page.

One option is to create a blank Layout based on the same table as "Invoice Details: Web".  Your script would then go to this new blank Layout, and since no fields are displayed, you would not see the content of the last record.  Then, have the script add a record and switch to the "Invoice Details: Web: Layout.  Does this make sense?

TSGal
                 FileMaker, Inc.

• 3. Re: On First Window Open Question