unable to get externally stored videos from container field to play

Product

FileMaker Pro

Version

12.0v4

Operating system version

windows xp service pack 3

Description of the issue

I set up an externally stored container field and inserted a video using the Insert -> Audio/video command. The video will play correctly on a Mac but will not play on the PC that was used to upload/insert the video. It appears and behaves as if the video was loaded into the container but when you clock play with 'ready' in the window, it flashes something in the window but doesn't play. The same video will play when stored as a reference. I am a FM newbie and not particularly well versed on PCs (mac person). PhilModJunk has been very helpful to me in getting as far as showing the externally stored container fields can be used for video storage (long thread titled) converting existing linked container data to externally....

the original goal of my efforts was to address lack of cross platform functionality with the video files stored by reference.
      thank you in advance
      -jim

Steps to reproduce the problem

upload a video on a PC to the externally stored container field and attempt to play the video.

Expected result

The video should play on a PC just as it does on a Mac.

Actual result

Video does not play on a PC. Video will play on a mac.

Exact text of any error message(s) that appear

no error messages

Workaround

phenomenology - The video plays on a PC using either quick time or Real Player outside of the context of FM. This is true on either Mac or PC.

• 1. Re: unable to get externally stored videos from container field to play
          jimnagle