8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2012 3:32 PM by dinora

Accessing my database using FM Go

dinora

Title

Accessing my database using FM Go

I am new at the FM Go.  From what I understood I could download the app into my ipad which I did.  From here I can open my  database that resides on my home computer remotely using the Ipad. 

This works perfectly assuming I am on the same wireless network which is at home.  However I lets say I go to a different wireless network, I am not being able to open the database remotely.  

Could this be because my database at home is not actually on a filemaker server?  I am using it as a standalone database. 

Please clarify if you can.

Thanks

Dinora  

• 1. Re: Accessing my database using FM Go
          MarkSimlo

Same problem here exactly - I hope someone can help us both.  I'm fairly sure its a port forwarding issue but might be wrong.

Mark

• 2. Re: Accessing my database using FM Go
            TSGal

Dinora and Mark Simlo:

Thank you for your posts.

If you are not on the same Wi-Fi network, then use the static IP Address of the host computer and connect remotely via 3g.  Make sure port 5003 is open.

TSGal
            FileMaker, Inc.

• 3. Re: Accessing my database using FM Go
              dinora

Hi TSGal,

I am little confused.

1.- I have the filemaker Go on my IPAD, but the ipad does not have a 3G Plans basically I connect to wireless networks when away from home and need to use.  So if I understand you correctly, I will not be able to connect to the database using the IPAD unless I am on my home wireless network.  Please confirm

2.- I also have the FM Go app on my I-Phone.  I have turned wi fi off and I am trying to connect but it keeps asking me for a file name following the ip address that I typed.

3.- Where do I make sure port 5003 is open.  Kindly clarify

Thanks in advance

Dinora

• 4. Re: Accessing my database using FM Go
                MarkSimlo