6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2014 11:20 AM by schamblee

Anyway to use FMG with a remote FM file (iCloud BU, FTP. WWW, etc.)?

DavidMansfield_1

Title

Anyway to use FMG with a remote FM file (iCloud BU, FTP. WWW, etc.)?

This is probably a TOTAL newbie question, but is there a way I can access a Filemaker 12 file hosted online with FileMaker Go? I could put it on iCloud Backup, or on my FTP site, or a hidden directory on my website etc..

I guess I'm trying to come up with a way to make a down & dirty personal FM hosting system (just so I can access a file at home and on the road) without paying $20/mo for a Filemaker hosting service, or having to write a ton of code.

Thx!

• 1. Re: Anyway to use FMG with a remote FM file (iCloud BU, FTP. WWW, etc.)?
          schamblee

Filemaker Go can not host a file.  Filemaker Go can connect to a hosted database just as a computer can.   iPad or iPhone would not be fast enough to host a databases.   You can host the file on your own computer at home using filemaker.  You will have to setup port forwarding to access your database from outside your local network. http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9770/~/port-forwarding-information

iCloud really isn't a full file service yet or it's under way.  It's not as far a long as dropbox.    You can use dropbox to copy your file from your home computer to your device and then back your device to your computer.  

• 2. Re: Anyway to use FMG with a remote FM file (iCloud BU, FTP. WWW, etc.)?
            DavidMansfield_1