6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2014 12:45 PM by TSGal

Backing up FM Go on iPad

michellefox

Title

Backing up FM Go on iPad

I've got a single user database running on an iPad. What is the best way to have this automatically backed up on a regular basis? Does carbonite.com or something similar work for this? It seems like iCloud doesn't do it. I don't want to mess around with dropbox or anything. It is actually for my husband and he needs it to be automated or it won't get done at all : P

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Backing up FM Go on iPad
          philmodjunk

Set up a script that emails a copy of the file to an email account.

• 2. Re: Backing up FM Go on iPad
            michellefox

That is a good idea. Any examples for me to follow? (I'm a newb, sorry).

Thanks again!

• 3. Re: Backing up FM Go on iPad
              TSGal

michelle fox:

At any time, you can tap the gear icon in the upper right corner.  In the Menu that displays, tap "Save / Send".  On the next screen, tap "Database", and on the next screen, tap "Email".  At this point, an empty message is displayed with the database file as an attachment.  At the top, tap to the right of "To:" and enter the recipient email address.  When done, tap "Done" in the upper right corner.

If you are ever near a Desktop computer, plug the iOS device into the Desktop computer, launch iTunes, and iTunes will allow you to backup the data files on your iPad.  If at a later time you accidentally delete a file, you can return to iTunes and restore the iPad.

Let me know if you need additional clarification.

TSGal
                   FileMaker, Inc.

• 4. Re: Backing up FM Go on iPad
                philmodjunk

All good ideas, but Michelle Fox wanted this to be automatic. wink

I can automate the email with a script:

Set Variable [ $Path ; Value: Get ( FileName ) & Substitute ( Get ( CurrentDate ) ; "/" ; "-" ) & ".fmp12" ]
                     Save A Copy As [$Path ; Copy ]