3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2011 11:25 AM by disabled_JackRodgers

Conectivity

PeterDurant

Title

Conectivity

I am contemplating purchasing several ipads to enhance productivity but am looking for some advise on the best way to implement my idea, and keep my database sync'd (please forgive me if I don't use the correct terminology, I am not a programmer).  My situation is this:

1. My FM database resides on a single computer connected to the internet through a cable modem. 
      2. I have 4 crews (HVAC Mechanics) with ipads who would manage customers service calls by pulling up the customer entering the service performed and enter the call as complete on the ipad.
      3. The database on the computer is then sync'd up, the customer's information is updated and the service call billed.

What is the best way to accomplish this:

1. Do I use FM server and let the ipad update the information in real time? (is that even possible?)
      2. When ther service call is complete do I have the technician email the database and update manually?
      3. Do I install install something like "Go to my PC" on my computer and let the ipad access FM through remote desktop sharing
      4. Do I create some sort of VPN and let the ipad access FM through instant web publishing?

Or is there a better/simpler way to do it?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Conectivity
          philmodjunk

Fm Go can connect to files hosted by FileMaker Server or FileMaker Pro (limited to 9 such clients) if you can establish a reliable wireless connection--which depends on your local 3G coverage, you can do this. This will be the simplest way to collate the data gathered by your srevice crews.

• 2. Re: Conectivity
            PeterDurant

Thanks PhilModJunk, so if I don't have to use FM server, how would I make the connection?

• 3. Re: Conectivity

Filemaker Server is designed to allow up to 125 connections at one time, or is it 250? In your case it doesn't matter.