2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2013 3:00 PM by philmodjunk

FM Go "Save changes to the layout?" message

flovelett

Title

FM Go "Save changes to the layout?" message

I am just beginning to use FM Go (12.07) on an iPad3 for a textile collection inventory system. Performance is decent for this simple database (about 3000 records with an image container field managed as external storage). 

However, a very annoying message "save changes to the current layout?" pops up each time I change the layout or even the layout view (from form to table).

Why is this happening when (presumably) I am in Browse Mode?

Will this message disappear when the layouts are sized down for the iPad's screen? I did change all the fonts to one supported by iOS, but this did not solve the problem.

Help appreciated,

Felicia Lovelett

• 1. Re: FM Go "Save changes to the layout?" message
          schamblee

I'm not sure about this message.  You can not modify the layout in Filemaker Go.  

You may have changed to a font that is not supported by Go and Go is changing the font to a support font and this is the reason the message is showing.  I guessing here.  This is where I would start testing.   Filemaker employees do review comments on here, but I don't know if they work weekends. 

This link is to the development Guide which list supported fonts.

http://www.filemaker.com/support/product/docs/11/filemaker-go/fmgo_development.pdf

You will have to design layouts to fit the iPad screen.  Databases do not automatically resize.  You can take a look at the starter solutions for examples of different layouts. (Desktop/iPad/Iphone)

• 2. Re: FM Go "Save changes to the layout?" message
            philmodjunk

I think that this message will only appear on an iOS device when the following is true:

The iOS device is a client of a hosted database--it's not a file stored on the local device. (But I could be wrong about this.)