9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2014 11:37 AM by gcKoenig

FM Go won't update file with same name via iTunes?

SteveDobney

Title

FM Go won't update file with same name via iTunes?

Hi

Let me preface this by saying I have no previous experience with databases and have just been developing my first FMP database for collecting data in the field (literally), using FM Go in iPad minis. One thing that seems to be a bug:

I have the layouts/records on the iPad, then save to the Mac laptop via iTunes (Save As).

On the laptop, I make some modifications, without changing the file name.

On the iPad, I delete the original files (and yes, I have been caught out with the 'Recent' tab, but I make sure I delete from the 'Device' tab.

I reload the file via iTunes (Add). It shows up on the iPad with the new file size and date, but when I open it (from the Device tab), it does not include the changes I've made on the laptop. I've tried this a number of times to verify it.

The only solution is to rename the file on the laptop, then Add it to the iPad, in which case it transfers properly. This seems to be a problem with overwriting the original file on the iPad.

Has anyone else noticed this?

Steve

• 1. Re: FM Go won't update file with same name via iTunes?
          Markus Schneider

it's working without problems here, but make sure that the iOS device is 'on' - not in sleep mode when You transfer the file (You can use drag&drop from the finder into the iTunes-window ('apps'...). You should be asked if You want to replace the file

• 2. Re: FM Go won't update file with same name via iTunes?
            SteveDobney
            Thanks Markus, I get a "cannot load file to device" or similar message of the device is asleep (locked), so that is not the problem. As I say, only solution is to change the file name.
            • 3. Re: FM Go won't update file with same name via iTunes?
              AppGuy

Steve-