6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 21, 2012 12:19 PM by disabled_JackRodgers

Help needed setting up FMGO on IPAD as a client to the Host of my FMPro on Mac Mini

MargaretHilliard

Title

Help needed setting up FMGO on IPAD as a client to the Host of my FMPro on Mac Mini

Hello all,

I am a novice to FM and a novice to Mac's and a novice to database development.  I will say that I am trying very hard and have been successful on setting up FMGO IPAD talking to the Mac Mini on my local network.  I've even created invoices on the IPAD and they went directly to the Mac Mini database. 

Is there someone out there that can tell me how to create the remote client connection between the host FM Pro Connection on my Mac Mini outside of the local network?  I.E. I want my FMGO IPAD version to talk directly to my FM Pro version on my Mini when it is way far away either using my 3G connection or my MiFi.

Thanks much any help would be great!

M.A.

• 1. Re: Help needed setting up FMGO on IPAD as a client to the Host of my FMPro on Mac Mini
          TSGal

Margaret Hilliard:

Thank you for your post.

Your question is a bit loaded, so let me first direct you to Chapter One of the FileMaker Go Development Guide, "Setting up databases for FileMaker Go":

http://www.filemaker.com/support/product/docs/filemaker-go/fmgo_development.pdf

I also recommend reading the FileMaker Go Technical Brief at:

http://www.filemaker.com/products/filemaker-go/docs/techbrief_filemaker_go_121_en.pdf

Using my favorite search engine and searching for "FileMaker WAN Set Up", I found:

http://www.formulationspro.com/pages/filemaker/downloads/131.pdf

This article provides a good overview how to set up FileMaker Pro files for a wide area network.

Another link is:

http://www.passtracker.net/PassTracker_Manual/lessons/FileMaker_-_How_to_Setup_a_Network_Router_for_FileMaker_Remote_Access.html